Hub City Press publishes books of literary fiction, poetry, creative nonfiction, regional nonfiction, nature, and art. We are seeking new and extraordinary voices from the American South. Well-crafted, high-quality works by new and established authors. We are particularly interested in books with a strong sense of place. We believe strongly that the publishing industry needs to promote a more diverse range of experiences, and so have committed ourselves to spotlighting lesser-heard Southern voices including: people of color, gender diversity, LGBTQIA, people with disabilities, as well as ethnic, cultural, and religious minorities. Hub City is a small press, publishing six to eight titles per year. In general, our publication schedule operates at least 12-18 months in advance of release.

Hub City publishes writers living in or from the South. What's the South? A complicated issue, to say the least, but the short answer for our purposes: Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, West Virginia. At the same time, we're interested in boundaries, borders, and in-betweens, so if you want to make a case for a state not listed here, we'll take a look.

We do not publish romance, science fiction, true crime, mystery, cookbooks, how-to books, horror/paranormal or specific-religion inspirational books. We do not publish books for young people (YA, middle grade or children's). Please do not send us a query if your book has already been self-published, even only as an eBook. We are not looking for single stories, essays, or poems at this time. 

Submission Opportunities, Prizes, and Series

Open Submissions 

Our open periods for unagented query submissions are March/April and September/October. You may only submit queries at in these months.

Please send us a one-page query letter about your manuscript. 

  • Please do not send us pages from the manuscript itself.  
  • Include the title, genre, length, description of the work, author background and publication history. 
  • Let us know of any credentials that particularly qualify you to write your book. If you have access to special markets or promotional opportunities for your book, we’d like to know about them as well. 

We also can no longer accept queries for poetry collections or short story collections. Please submit in these genres through our New Southern Voices and C. Michael Curtis Short Story Prizes. If you are a South Carolina fiction writer, we hope you’ll consider submitting your novel to the South Carolina Novel Prize. 

Due to the size of our staff and the volume of queries we receive, we are unable to respond to every query. We will be in touch with you if we have interest in your work. If you have not heard back within six months of your query or manuscript submission, assume your manuscript was not a good fit for us.

Please do not submit to the following prizes during our open submission periods:

C. Michael Curtis Story Story Book Prize

The C. Michael Curtis Short Story Book Prize is open to emerging writers in thirteen Southern states. Submitters must currently reside in Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia or West Virginia, and must have no previously published books of fiction.

The prize includes $10,000 and book publication and is named in honor of C. Michael Curtis, who has served as an editor of The Atlantic since 1963 and as fiction editor since 1982. 

Submissions:  January 1 - April 1 annually 

New Southern Voices Poetry Prize

The New Southern Voices Poetry Book Prize is open to all Southern poets with no more than one previously published full-length collection. Submittors must currently reside in Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia or West Virginia, and must have resided there for a minimum of 24 consecutive months. 

Submissions: January 1 - April 1 biennially 

South Carolina Novel Prize

The South Carolina Novel Prize recognizes one of South Carolina's exceptional writers, debut or previously published, with publication and an award of $1000. Writers must be South Carolina residents for at least a year. Partners in this prize are the South Carolina Arts Commission, Hub City Press, College of Charleston, Crazyhorse Literary Journal, and the South Carolina State Library. South Carolina Humanities is a founding partner.

Submissions: January 1 - March 15 biennially 

PLEASE NOTE: Submissions for the novel prize must go through the submission page at the South Carolina Arts Commission here:

Illustrators and Artists Profile Submission

We are always looking for emerging visual artists, illustrators and photographers for book cover collaborations. Please visit our Submissions page to send us a portfolio of your work.

Hub City Press has an ongoing need for artists for commissioned illustrations and cover artwork. We'd love to see your work!
Hub City Press